At the source

I’m pretty sure my son is going to be an avid soccer player. I say this because he’s always kicking his legs, even while we breast feed. You can imagine the scene (though some of you might not want to) as I -as petite as I am- trying to get a good latch and he -who took after his father in height- is kicking his legs and wiggling around causing him inevitably to get further away from me, and thus, the source of his nutrition.

This morning, as we are wrestling to get into a comfortable position, I found myself saying to him aloud “sweetie, I can’t feed you properly if you keep inching away from me!” And then it hit me that my Heavenly Father has likely spent a majority of my life telling me the same thing.

You can’t properly be fed by my word if you inch away from me. You cannot possibly be blessed by my promises, if you are not seeking them from the source; you must find the source and stay there.

My whole Christian life I have struggled to build a habit of reading my Bible. I’ll start on a certain day and do really well for about a week, but then I fall of the wagon. A few weekss ago I heard Dr. James McDonald preach on the section in his book 10 Choices: A Proven Plan to Change Your Life Forever where he talks about choosing the Bible as God’s Word, and therefore, the authority in my life. He said something that really convicted me about the habit I had missed for so long.

First, I must make reading my Bible a discipline. Once it has become a well-established discipline, it becomes my desire. However, we don’t stop there. The key to a life that is truly driven and transformed by the word of God is to continue to seek it and thirst after it until it becomes my delight.

And it finally dawned on me, the reason why the intensity with which my husband hungers for God’s Word is so much stronger than mine. He has made it a discipline, it became his desire, and has now become his delight.

I have to admit that I’m not at that last point yet. It’s definitely my desire, but there are so many days when reading the Bible just isn’t a delight. I constantly battle my flesh in that regard, but I know it’s because I never made it a discipline to begin with. Now, many years after my salvation, The Lord is still sanctifying me in this area, and I feel that I’m getting there. I’m finally beginning to delight in His Word every time I read it.

How about you? Are you seeking for your daily bread (the Word of God) at the proper source?

But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’” Matthew 4:4

Leave a Reply

