Welcoming Adversity

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?

What if trials of this life
Are Your mercies in disguise?

As we prepare for Michael’s upcoming “business trip” I’ve been looking at the summer with dread. Yet God’s timing is indeed perfect. A few weeks ago we had the opportunity to share a meal with a couple, friends of ours, that turned out to be more uplifting that I had imagined. I went in there, baby in tow, expecting a nice meal while catching up and instead walked out with an uplifted heart and a book that was about to really challenge the way I was going to look at the few months to come.

You see, adversity, though hard a pill to swallow, is one that is absolutely necessary in our Christian walk. It forces us to our knees before a God that gladly wipes our tears and invites us to run to instead of away from Him, when we’re in pain. It beckons us to trust fully in His guidance when we feel the darkness overtaking us – to dig gold by moonlight.

This is the challenge the Spirit is giving me during the upcoming time of separation from my husband: have faith to persevere, enjoy the adversity, and rise to the occasion.

Oswald Chambers says in reference to perseverance:

A saint’s life is in the hands of God like a bow and arrow in the hands of an archer. God is aiming at something the saint cannot see, but our Lord continues to stretch and strain, and every once in a while the saint says, “I can’t take any more.” Yet God pays no attention; He goes on stretching until His purpose is in sight, and then He let’s the arrow fly. Entrust yourself to God’s hands.

Such is military life sometimes. When I think God can’t stretch us anymore at any given time, He does, as He calls me to get into the habit of enjoying adversity and rising to the occasion. Chambers also calls us to meditate on 2 Corinthians 4:10; to remember that the purpose of our salvation is to manifest Jesus through our lives and to “rise every time to whatever occasion may come [our] way.” After all, are we to take only the blessings from God and reject the troubles of this life? (See Job 2:10)

No. I will trust in Him for He is my rock and my salvation.

I leave you with these words from Amy Carmichael:

“Trust Me, my child,” He says. “Trust Me with a fuller abandon than you ever have before. Trust Me, as minute succeeds minute, every day of your life, for as long as you live. And if you become conscious of anything hindering our relationship, do not hurt Me by turning away from Me. Draw all the closer to Me, come, run to Me. Allow Me to hide you, to protect you, even from yourself. Tell Me your deepest cares, your every trouble. Trust Me to keep My hand upon you. I will never leave you. I will shape you, mold you, and perfect you. Do not fear, O child of My love, do not fear. I love you.”

I pray that I will run to Him during this time and hide in His perfect love.

~Nathalia

Leave a Reply

